GRAND Workshop

1213-RC11 (LPNHE, Paris)


LPNHE, Paris

LPNHE Tour 12-13 RdC 4 place Jussieu 75005 Paris
Jean-Philippe Lenain (LPNHE, CNRS/IN2P3), Kumiko Kotera (Institut d'Astrophysique de Paris), Olivier Martineau (IN2P3)


This workshop aims at discussing the pertinence and the feasibility of a giant radio telescope dedicated to the detection of high energy cosmic neutrinos.

Our project, named GRAND (Giant Radio Array for Neutrino Detection), consists in its preliminary version, of an array of 90 000 radio antennas deployed over a total area of 60 000 km2. The array aims at detecting high energy neutrinos (E>10^16 eV) via the geo-synchrotron effects induced in air-showers of up-going tau-neutrinos. Two documents, one presenting the science case for GRAND, and the other giving more details about the proposed design of the telescope, are available here:

Science case for GRAND:

GRAND design:


In the workshop, we hope to gather international experts on high-energy phenomena, in order to discuss practical and technical aspects of the project (conception of the detection unit, definition of the pertinent data to register with the data acquisition system, array deployment…), to estimate the expected sensitivity of the telescope, and evaluate the impact of the results, and the synergies that could be envisaged with other fields. 

The GRAND workshop is organised at LPNHE, with support by the Lagrange Institute Paris, the Programme National Hautes Energies and the Region Ile-de-France.








  • Abigail Vieregg
  • Anastasia Fialkov
  • antoine letessier-selvon
  • Aongus O'Murchada
  • Benjamin Wandelt
  • Chad Finley
  • Charles Timmermans
  • Corinne Berat
  • Cristina Carloganu
  • David MARTIN
  • David Nitz
  • Fabian Schüssler
  • Francoise Combes
  • Jacques David
  • Jean-Philippe Lenain
  • Jianli Zhang
  • Junhua Gu
  • Krijn de Vries
  • Kumiko Kotera
  • Nicolas Renault-Tinacci
  • Olivier Martineau
  • Patrick Stassi
  • Pierre Billoir
  • Quanbu Gou
  • Tanguy Pierog
  • Thierry Pradier
  • Thierry Stolarczyk
  • Tiina Suomijärvi
  • Valentin Niess
  • Vincent Marin
  • Véronique Van Elewyck
  • Washington, Jr. Carvalho
  • Xiang-Ping Wu
  • Yan Huang
  • Yi Mao
  • yi Zhang
  • Zhaoyang Feng
    • 09:30 09:40

      Overview of the workshop goal

      Présidents de session: Kumiko Kotera (IAP), Olivier Martineau-Huynh (IN2P3)
    • 09:40 10:00
      GRAND science case
      Président de session: Dr Kumiko Kotera (Institut d'Astrophysique de Paris)
    • 10:00 10:20
      GRAND project overview
      Président de session: Olivier Martineau-Huynh (IN2P3)
    • 10:20 10:35
      Coffee Break 15m
    • 10:35 10:40
      Welcome from the Director of the Institut Lagrange de Paris 5m
      Orateur: Benjamin Wandelt (IAP)
    • 10:40 12:40
      Neutrino detection simulation: air shower generation simulation
      Président de session: Dr Tanguy Pierog (KIT, IKP)
      • 10:40
        General simulation scheme , horizontal showers and energy reconstruction 20m
        Orateur: Dr Tanguy Pierog (KIT, IKP)
      • 11:00
        Neutrino search in AUGER 20m
        Orateur: M. Pierre Billoir (LPNHE)
      • 11:20
        GRAND simulation scheme 30m
        Orateur: Valentin Niess (LPC, Clermont)
      • 11:50
        GRAND preliminary sensitivity estimate 20m
        Orateur: Olivier Martineau-Huynh (IN2P3)
      • 12:10
        Discussion 30m
    • 12:40 14:40
      Lunch 2h
    • 14:40 16:45
      Neutrino detection simulation: Radio simulation tools
      Président de session: Ralph Engel
      • 14:40
        Selfast simulation code 30m
        Orateur: Vincent Marin (Subatech)
      • 15:10
        CoReas simulation code 30m
        Orateurs: Dr Tanguy Pierog (KIT, IKP), Dr Tim Huege (Karlsruhe Institute of Technology)
      • 15:40
        Macroscopic modelling of radio emission from particle cascades 30m
        Orateur: M. Krijn de Vries (KVI/University of Groningen)
      • 16:10
        ZHAireS-Reflex simulation code & neutrino radio simulation 20m
        Orateur: Dr Washington, Jr. Carvalho (Facultad de Física, Universidad de Santiago de Compostela)
      • 16:30
        Discussion 15m
        Orateurs: Dr Fabian Schussler (CEA/Irfu), Ralph Engel (KIT)
    • 16:45 17:05
      Coffee Break 20m
    • 17:05 18:30
      Other science cases
      Président de session: Prof. XiangPing Wu (NAOC)
      • 17:05
        Physics of the Epoch of Reionization 30m
        Orateur: Prof. Francoise Combes (Observatoire de Paris)
      • 17:35
        Detection of the Epoch of Reionization 30m
        Orateur: Prof. XiangPing WU
      • 18:05
        Open discussion 25m
        Orateur: Prof. Xiang-Ping Wu (National Astronomical Observatories of China)
    • 09:00 10:00
      Air shower radio detection: experimental status
      Président de session: Dr Vincent Marin
      • 09:15
        EAS identification in TREND 30m
        Orateur: Olivier Martineau-Huynh (IN2P3)
      • 09:45
        Discussion 15m
        Orateur: M. Vincent Marin (Subatech)
    • 10:00 10:20
      Coffee Break 20m
    • 10:20 11:50
      Air shower radio detection: GRAND proto
      Président de session: Olivier Martineau (IN2P3)
      • 10:20
        GRAND proto principle 20m
        Orateur: Olivier Martineau-Huynh (IN2P3)
      • 10:40
        GRAND proto radio DAQ 20m
        Orateurs: M. Jacques David (LPNHE), Patrick Nayman (CNRS/IN2P3/LPNHE)
      • 11:00
        GRAND proto scintillator array 20m
        Orateurs: Quanbu Gou (IHEP), Zhaoyang Feng (IHEP)
      • 11:20
        Discussion 30m
    • 11:50 13:50
      Lunch 2h
    • 13:50 16:10
      GRAND giant array: detector design
      Président de session: Prof. Tiina Suomijärvi (IPNO/IN2P3)
      • 13:50
        Giant array deployment: the Auger expertise 25m
        Orateur: David Nitz
      • 14:15
        The AERA DAQ 25m
        Orateur: Charles Timmermans
      • 14:40
        GRAND instrumental challenges 20m
        Orateur: Olivier Martineau-Huynh (IN2P3)
      • 15:00
        Wireless UART coms and possible application to GRAND (Linear Tech.) 30m
        Orateur: M. Didier Gerard (Linear Technology)
      • 15:30
        The Ulastai Observatory site support 20m
        Orateur: XiangPing Wu (NAOC)
      • 15:50
        Discussion 20m
    • 16:10 16:30
      Coffee Break 20m
    • 16:30 18:20
      Experimental input from other neutrino detectors
      Président de session: M. Thierry Pradier (Université de Strasbourg & IPHC/DRS)
      • 16:30
        Cosmic particle detection in ANITA 30m
        Orateur: Abigail Vieregg (University of Chicago)
      • 17:00
        Input from ARA 30m
        Orateur: Aongus O'Murchada (Universite Libre de Bruxelles)
      • 17:30
        Neutrino search in ANTARES and KM3Net 30m
        Orateur: Dr Véronique Van Elewyck (APC)
      • 18:00
        Discussion 20m
        Orateur: M. Thierry Pradier (Université de Strasbourg & IPHC/DRS)
    • 18:20 20:20
      Cocktail 2h
    • 09:00 10:00
      Synergies with other messengers and experiments
      Président de session: Dr Jean-Philippe Lenain (LPNHE, CNRS/IN2P3)
      • 09:00
        Synergies with other messengers 30m
        Orateurs: Dr Fabian Schussler (CEA/Irfu), Jean-Philippe Lenain (LPNHE, CNRS/IN2P3)
      • 09:30
        Complementarity with other neutrino detectors 30m
        Orateurs: Chad Finley (Stockholm University), Dr Fabian Schussler (CEA/Irfu)
    • 10:00 10:30
      Other science cases
      Présidents de session: Benjamin Wandelt (IAP), joe silk (IAP)
      • 10:00
        Other science cases: open discussion 30m
        Orateurs: Dr Anastasia Fialkov (ENS), Yi Mao (Institut d'Astrophysique de Paris), joe silk (IAP)
    • 10:30 10:50
      Coffee Break 20m
    • 10:50 12:30
      Future plans

      Open discussion on costs, future plans & strategy for the future.

Your browser is out of date!

Update your browser to view this website correctly. Update my browser now