Amphi Dirac (IPN Lyon)

Amphi Dirac

IPN Lyon

Domaine scientifique de la doua Bâtiment Paul Dirac 4, rue Enrico Fermi 69622 Villeurbanne CEDEX
Corinne AUGIER (Institut de Physique Nucléaire de Lyon IPNL), Olivier Stezowski (IPNL), Sacha Davidson (IPNL), Stéphane Perries (IPNL), imad laktineh (in2p3-ucbl)
The Institut de Physique Nucléaire de Lyon is happy to host the second edition of Ecole Internationale de Physique Subatomique from the 20/10/2014 to the 25/10/2014. The aim of the school is to review some recent developments in nuclear physics, particle physics and astroparticle physics. The target audience is PhD students in these topics. The goal is to complete the formation acquired during the Master years by proposing lectures on some core topics of these disciplines. Lectures will be given in english.

This year the main lectures (6 hours each) will be :
  • Accelerator physics (Alessandro Variola, LAL Orsay)
  • Neutrino oscillations (Marco Zito, IRFU, CEA Saclay)
  • QCD and jets (Sebastian Sapeta, CERN)

A 15 hours long comprehensive introduction to the simulation software Geant 4, including practical sessions (Olivier Stesowski, IPN Lyon with Iulia Companis IPN Lyon for the practical sessions). Please note that for this course a basic knowledge in C++ is required.

There will also be 3 additional seminars extending the lectures
* neutrino oscillations in supernovae (Pasquale Serpico, LAPTH) 
* experimental aspects of jets and recent measurements at the LHC (Mikko Voutilainen, University of Helsinki) 
* Laser-plasma acceleration (Arnd Specka, LLR)

The participation to this school will provide credits (30h) for the scientific formation required by the french doctoral schools.

This school is funded by the Labex LIO (Lyon Institute of Origins). Some grants are available for students oustide Lyon (see application page).
  • Amelia Leite
  • André Cortez
  • Antoine Pingault
  • Arnaud HUBER
  • Arnaud Steen
  • Assia BESSAA
  • benoit courbon
  • Boris Teyssier
  • Dan YU
  • Didi Samir
  • Elvire Bouvier
  • Ete Rémi
  • Francesco Gizzarelli
  • Francois Lagarde
  • GBEDO Yémalin Gabin
  • Guillermo Palacio
  • Jean-Philippe Fontaine
  • Jose Cupertino Ruiz Vargas
  • maquart Guillaume
  • Mickael Lespinasse
  • Oluwaseyi Olalekan Obayemi
  • Pedro Correia
  • Pequegnot Anne-Laure
  • Pierre Lansonneur
  • Queguiner Emeline
  • Robinson Longas
  • Roza Avetisyan
  • suman Gautam
  • Sébastien Brochet
  • Thomas Salagnac
  • Vahagn Ivanyan