Workshop on Observatory Synergies for Astroparticle physics and Geoscience

Amphithéâtre (IPGP)



Institut de Physique du Globe de Paris 1 Rue Jussieu, 75005 Paris

Rationale. The recent convergence between Geoscience and Astroparticle Physics. In the last years there appeared many areas of natural synergy between Geosciences and Astroparticle Physics. Earth and Astroparticle sciences share a mutual scientific culture based on common objects of study, methods and approaches. They both deal with complex natural systems at much larger scales than the human scale, need deployments of large sensor networks in sometimes very hostile environments (sea, desert, underground, space), use long series of precise observations acquired over a range of time scales. They develop models relying on the state of the art in fundamental physics, chemistry, earth sciences, biology, numerical and computer sciences.  They finally use big data analysis and transfer and worldwide networking. In particular, some of the synergies concern:

  1. Imaging (gravitational, acoustic, muon, neutrino)
  2. Data collection in extreme environment
  3. New technological means for parameter monitoring
  4. Contribution to the understanding and forecasting of natural hazards

APPEC, GEO-8 and Academia Europaea organize therefore a 2-days workshop in February 2019, at the Institut de Physique de Globe de Paris, in the presence of key science PIs and stakeholder agencies representatives, including organisations collaborating within the APPEC and GEO-8 consortia, but not restricted to them. 

NEW: Conclusions and outlook now available here below

Aim and structure of the workshop. The main aim of the proposed workshop is to explore the possible common grounds and combine the scientific expertise of both fields, involving key PIs of the respective fields together, in order to promote original interdisciplinary research and education projects. The structure of the workshop will be as follows:  There will be a series of short presentations by key PIs on the possible synergies and the cases developed up to now, followed by a discussion and a closing meeting with organisations collaborating in APPEC and GEO-8, as well as other Geosciences and Astrophysics agencies.  Common lines of action, regarding co-funding or common applications to European calls, and international collaborations will be explored. The workshop will also examine opportunities for future coordination during the last part of the H2020 (2018-2020) and the forthcoming Horizon Europe programs.

Organizing Committee:

  • Michel Diament (Institut de Physique du Globe de Paris) 
  • Philippe Jousset (Helmholtz Centre GFZ)
  • Stavros Katsanevas (Director of EGO – European Gravitational Observatory)
  • Giovanni Macedonio (INGV Osservatorio Vesuviano)
  • Francesca Moglia (DESY-APPEC, Deutsches Elektronen Synchrotron)
  • Paolo Papale (INGV Pisa; Chair, Earth and Cosmic Sciences section of the Academia Europaea

Deadline for Grant applications: 13 January, 2019

Deadline for Abstract submissions: 29 January, 2019



  • Alexander Rudloff
  • Andrea Giammanco
  • Andreina García
  • Antoine Kouchner
  • Arnaud Landragin
  • Aurelia Olivier-Kaiser
  • Benedicte MENEZ
  • Berrie Giebels
  • Carlo Giunchi
  • Christos Markou
  • Corinne Goy
  • Daniele Carbone
  • Edouard Kaminski
  • Edward Hinton
  • Eleni Chatzichristou
  • Emilie Deschamps-Ostanciaux
  • Emmanuelle GALICHET
  • Etienne Parizot
  • Flora Giudicepietro
  • Francesca Moglia
  • Francois Vannucci
  • Frederic Effenberger
  • Gauthier Hulot
  • Gilberto Saccorotti
  • Gilda Currenti
  • Giles Hammond
  • Giorgio Bellia
  • Giorgio Riccobene
  • Giovanni Macedonio
  • guillaume huchet
  • Hector Gomez
  • Ignacio Lázaro Roche
  • Jean Lautier-Gaud
  • jean-francois Karczewski
  • Jie HU
  • Job de Kleuver
  • Jordi Diaz
  • Kevin Almeida Cheminant
  • Laszlo Somlai
  • Livia Ludhova
  • Luciano Zuccarello
  • Marc-Andre Gutscher
  • Marco Olivieri
  • Marella de Angelis
  • Marina Rosas-Carbajal
  • MARTEAU Jacques
  • Michel CRIBIER
  • Michel Diament
  • Paola Antolini
  • Paolo Papale
  • Paul-Eric Pottie
  • Philippe Jousset
  • Pierre de Marcillac
  • Rajkumar Thapa
  • Roberta Colalillo
  • Ronan MICHEL
  • Simon Bourret
  • Simon Bouteille
  • Sindhujha Kumaran
  • Sophie Wuyckens
  • Sotiris Loucatos
  • Soumen Koley
  • stavros katsanevas
  • Teresa Montaruli
  • Theodoros Avgitas
  • Thomas Forbriger
  • Veronique Van Elewyck
  • Wenke Domscheit
  • Yannis Karyotakis
  • Zoltan Zimboras