Oct 8 – 12, 2018
Ecole Supérieure de Chimie, Paris
Europe/Paris timezone

CRPropa 3.2: Improved and extended open-source astroparticle propagation framework from TeV to ZeV energies

Oct 10, 2018, 10:33 AM
Main Hall (Ecole Supérieure de Chimie)

Main Hall

Ecole Supérieure de Chimie

Chimie Paris Tech


Dr Arjen van Vliet (DESY Zeuthen)


Experimental observations of Galactic and extragalactic cosmic rays, neutrinos and gamma rays in the last decade challenge the theoretical description of both the sources and the transport of these particles. The latest version of the publicly available simulation framework CRPropa 3.2 is a Monte-Carlo based software package capable of providing consistent solutions of the cosmic-ray origin problem. It is not only able to describe the propagation of Galactic and extragalactic cosmic rays in a ballistic single-particle approach, but can also solve a cosmic-ray transport equation, describe the production and propagation of neutrinos and electromagnetic cascades, and simulate the cosmic-ray acceleration inside their sources. This combined approach will allow for a consistent description of cosmic rays, neutrinos and photons from the highest energies down to the TeV range, including electromagnetic cascades down to the GeV range. This contribution will summarize the latest extensions and improvements of the code, e.g. solving the transport equation, revamped electromagnetic cascades, source targeting, cosmic-ray acceleration and many technical enhancements. The new opportunities coming with these developments will be explained including simple user examples.

Primary author

Dr Arjen van Vliet (DESY Zeuthen)


Dr Rafael Alves Batista (Universidade de São Paulo) Prof. Julia Becker Tjus (Ruhr-Universität Bochum) Mr Andrej Dundovic (University of Hamburg) Prof. Martin Erdmann (RWTH Aachen University) Mr Christopher Heiter (Max Planck Institute for Radio Astronomy) Prof. Karl-Heinz Kampert (Bergische Universität Wuppertal) Dr Daniel Kuempel (RWTH Aachen University) Mr Lukas Merten (Ruhr-Universität Bochum) Mr Gero Müller (RWTH Aachen University) Prof. Günter Sigl (University of Hamburg) Dr David Walz (RWTH Aachen University) Dr Tobias Winchen (Vrije Universiteit Brussel) Mr Marcus Wirtz (RWTH Aachen University)

Presentation materials