Computing and Astroparticle Physics - Aspera Workshop

amphithéatre (LYON CC-IN2P3)



Centre de Calcul IN2P3/CNRS Domaine scientifique de La Doua 43 bd du 11 Nov.1918 69622 Villeurbanne Cedex
''Then your lines of force can weave a web across the sky and lead the stars in their courses'' J.C. Maxwell to Faraday
Astroparticle physics stands on the threshold of a new era of discovery. It attempts to determine: - the role of high energy phenomena to the formation of the large cosmic structures using new cosmic messengers: high energy photons, cosmic rays, neutrinos and gravitational waves. - the stuff of the Universe and in particular the nature of dark matter and energy using large sky surveys and underground dark matter search experiments. - the form of matter and interactions at the shortest scales, using rare decays to study the properties of the neutrino and the proton lifetime in underground laboratories. Astroparticle Physics has grown in a few years from a field of a few charismatic pioneers transgressing interdisciplinary frontiers to a global science activity projecting very large infrastructures involving hundreds of researchers each. In particular the large infrastructures proposed in the ASPERA Roadmap ( will face challenging problems of data collection, data storage and data mining. In some of these the cost of computing will be a significant fraction of the cost of the infrastructure and the issues of model of computation, data mining complexity and public access will be extremely challenging. In the Lyon workshop these issues will be addressed and will be confronted with data storage and analysis models developed in the neighbouring fields: particle physics (grid and cloud computing, large databases) and astrophysics (virtual observatories, public access). Some more specific astroparticle physics issues although not yet extremely data intensive will also be addressed (intelligent distributed data gathering and heterogeneous data fusion). The computing models developed up to now for some of the forthcoming astroparticle observatories (CTA, KM3net, Auger, VIRGO/LIGO, LSST) will be reviewed. The availability of environmental data collected by these observatories to geosciences and the education network (outreach) will be addressed. Finally, the links with the existing centres of particle physics and astrophysics will be also discussed.

Organisation Committee :
- Delphine BENKLIFA              CC-IN2P3
- Dominique BOUTIGNY         CC-IN2P3
- Sylvie JACQUOT                  CC-IN2P3
- Stavros KATSANEVAS          IN2P3
- Giovanni LAMANNA             LAPP Annecy - IN2P3
- Rachid LEMRANI                 CC-IN2P3
- Arnaud MARSOLLIER          IN2P3
- Tiffany THOME                    CC-IN2P3

  • Ahmed Rebai
  • Andre-Pierre OLIVIER
  • Andrzej Ozieblo
  • Anne-Laure Derepas
  • Balázs Kégl
  • Bruce ALLEN
  • Cecile Barbier
  • Charles Loomis
  • Christian Neissner
  • Christophe Arviset
  • Cristinel Diaconu
  • Dennis van Dok
  • Dominique Boutigny
  • Edward Porter
  • Elisabetta PENNACCHIO
  • Emmanuel Gangler
  • Emmanuel Le Guirriec
  • Eric Aubourg
  • Fabio Pasian
  • Francoise Genova
  • Gergely Debreczeni
  • Gevorg Poghosyan
  • Gil Moretto
  • Giovanni Lamanna
  • Ian Bird
  • Jean-Noel Albert
  • Luisa Arrabito
  • Manuel Delfino
  • Marek Magrys
  • Mathias Beck
  • Michel Obolensky Obolensky
  • Nadine NEYROUD
  • Pierre Binetruy
  • Rachid LEMRANI
  • Raymond Plante
  • Roberto Cossu
  • Rui Pereira
  • Sandra Hesping
  • Smain Kermiche
  • Stavros Katsanevas
  • Volker Beckmann
  • Yannick Mellier
  • Thursday, 7 October
    • 10:00 10:15
      Coffee 15m
    • 10:15 10:30
      Welcome 15m
      Speakers: Dominique Boutigny (CC-IN2P3) , Prof. Stavros KATSANEVAS (CNRS/IN2P3)
    • 10:30 11:00
      LHC and the Grid, progress and problems 30m
      Speaker: Dr Ian Bird (CERN)
    • 11:00 11:30
      EGI 30m
      Speaker: Steven Newhouse (EGI)
    • 11:30 12:00
      Hardware and Software for Gravitational Wave Data Analysis 30m
      Speaker: Bruce Allen
    • 12:00 12:30
      Grid and Many-Core Computing @ VIRGO 30m
      Speaker: Dr Gergely Debreczeni (MTA KFKI RMKI)
    • 12:30 14:00
      Lunch 1h 30m
    • 14:00 14:30
      IVOA, International Virtual Observatory Alliance 30m
      Speaker: Dr Fabio Pasian (INAF - OATs)
    • 14:30 15:00
      ESA‐ESRIN GRID Processing on Demand (Earth Observation) 30m
      Speaker: Dr Roberto Cossu (European Space Agency - ESRIN)
    • 15:00 15:30
      ESA‐ESAC Astronomical GRID Applications at ESAC 30m
      Speaker: Mr Christophe Arviset (ESA-ESAC)
    • 15:30 16:00
      Coffee Break 30m
    • 16:00 16:30
      CTA Computing Grid and e-infrastructures 30m
      Speaker: Dr GIOVANNI LAMANNA (LAPP- Laboratoire de Annecy-le-vieux de Physique des Particules IN2P3/CNRS)
    • 16:30 17:00
      MAGIC Data Center 30m
      Speaker: Dr Christian Neissner (Port d'Informació Científica)
    • 17:00 17:30
      AUGER 30m
      Speaker: Jean-Noel Albert (LAL-IN2P3)
  • Friday, 8 October
    • 09:30 10:00
      LSST Pipelines and Infrastructure for Probing Dark Energy 30m
      Speaker: Dr Raymond Plante (National Center for Supercomputing Applications)
    • 10:00 10:30
      EUCLID 30m
      Speaker: Mr Eric Aubourg (APC)
    • 10:30 11:00
      Francois Arago Centre 30m
      Speaker: Dr Volker Beckmann (APC, Univ. Paris 7)
    • 11:00 11:30
      Coffee Break 30m
    • 11:30 12:00
      HEAVENS Project 30m
      Speaker: Dr Mathias Beck (ISDC, Astronomical Observatory of the University of Geneva)
    • 12:00 12:30
      Cloud Computing and Challenges 30m
      Speaker: Dr Charles Loomis (LAL-Orsay)
    • 12:30 14:00
      Lunch 1h 30m
    • 14:00 14:30
      Heterogeneous data fusion and data mining issues 30m
      Speaker: Dr Francoise Genova (Centre de Donnees astronomiques de Strasbourg)
    • 14:30 15:00
      Grid for control of Astronomical Instrumentation 30m
      Speaker: Claudio Vuerli
    • 15:00 15:30
      Coffee Break 30m
    • 15:30 17:00
      Round table TIER 1s and Astroparticle Physics 1h 30m
      Speakers: Mr Dennis van Dok (Nikhef) , Dominique Boutigny (CC-IN2P3) , Dr Gevorg Poghosyan (Steinbuch Centre for Computing, Karlsruhe Institute of Technology) , Prof. Manuel Delfino (Port d'Informació Científica (PIC)) , Mirco Mazzucato, Neil Geddes, Prof. Stavros KATSANEVAS (CNRS/IN2P3) , Dr Vincent Breton (CNRS-IN2P3)