Indisponibilité programmée / Scheduled outage
2-7 May 2010
Oustau Calendal Conference Center
Europe/Paris timezone
If you participated in the conference, please consider sending photos and poster contributions, unless done so already!

Focusing Aerogel RICH for particle identification and momentum measurement.

7 May 2010, 11:20
Oustau Calendal Conference Center

Oustau Calendal Conference Center

Cassis, France
Oral presentation Research & Development for future experiments Research and Development for future detectors


Dr Evgeniy Kravchenko (Budker Institute of Nuclear Physics)


Latest steps in the development of the Focusing Aerogel RICH (FARICH) in Novosibirsk are presented. Our group has developed the technique of multilayer aerogel production. Several multilayer aerogel samples were produced. Optical parameters were measured. A project of the Forward RICH for the SuperB experiment (Italy) is presented. It features a dual aerogel-water radiator and Photonis MCP PMTs. The detector will be able to perform pi/K separation at 3 sigma level from 0.2 to 7 GeV/c, mu/pi separation -- from 0.13 to 1.4 GeV/c. FARICH precise velocity measurement gives the possibility to determine particle momentum with accuracy about 1%. An aerogel RICH for Super Tau-Charm factory project in Novosibirsk is proposed. It is shown that the detector will separate pions and kaons from 0.2 to 9 GeV/c momentum. Also mu/pi separation from 0.13 to 1.9 GeV/c momentum will be possible. A prototype of the FARICH is being built at BINP (Novosibirsk). It will be tested with a dedicated electron beam line. At the first stage MRS APDs (SiPM) produced by CPTA (Moscow) will be used as photon detectors. Gain, photon detection efficiency and noise rate were measured for several APDs.
Please indicate "poster" or "plenary" session. Final decision will be made by session coordinators. plenary

Primary author

Dr Evgeniy Kravchenko (Budker Institute of Nuclear Physics)


Alexander Barnyakov (Budker Institute of Nuclear Physics) Alexander Danilyuk (Boreskov Institute of Catalysis) Alexei Buzykaev (Budker Institute of Nuclear Physics) Alexei Onuchin (Budker Institute of Nuclear Physics) Mikhail Barnyakov (Budker Institute of Nuclear Physics) Sergey Kononov (Budker Institute of Nuclear Physics) Vasili Gulevich (Budker Institute of Nuclear Physics) Viktor Bobrovnikov (Budker Institute of Nuclear Physics)

Presentation Materials