LCDM, Modified Gravity or new Dark Matter models?

Rooms 2307 and 2302 (Tour Zamansky)

Rooms 2307 and 2302

Tour Zamansky

Campus Jussieu 4 Place Jussieu 75005 Paris

​This was an informal meeting on galaxy properties and how they relate to Dark Matter. The focus of the workshop was to learn more about the mass discrepancy-acceleration relation (MDAR) of galaxies, and whether this can be explained by vanilla Lambda-CDM, some new theory of Modified Gravity or perhaps new models of Dark Matter. 

It consisted of a number of lectures and seminars from experts across these related topics, aimed at an audience of people working in the field of Dark Matter, but not necessarily on these aspects. The lectures were pedagogical, aiming to provide an introduction to the MDAR and different possible explanations. Seminars covered more recent developments, with ample time set aside for discussions. The speakers were: Alejandro Benítez-Llambay, Celine Boehm, Arianna Di Cintio, Pavel Kroupa, Federico Lelli, Jakub Scholtz, Costas Skordis and Anca Tureanu. 

This was the fifth in a series of mini-workshops held in the context of the activities of the ERC Starting Grant project: 'NewDark: New Directions in Dark Matter Phenomenology at the TeV Scale'. Support from the ERC is acknowledged. Previous mini-workshops covered Dark Matter searches at colliders, numerical simulationsaxion theory and searches and Dark Matter and Stars.

Participation was by invitation only.


  • Mathieu Boudaud (boudaud at
  • Marco Cirelli (mcirelli at
  • Bradley Kavanagh (bkavanagh at
  • Filippo Sala (fsala at

The social dinner took place on Tuesday 30th May and was held at the Restaurant "Les Arts" in L'Hôtel des Arts & Métiers near Trocadéro.

Find below the full schedule, talk slides and a group photo of the mini-workshop participants:

Photo of mini-workshop participants

  • Adam Falkowski
  • Alejandro Benítez-Llambay
  • Anca Tureanu
  • Arianna Di Cintio
  • Benjamin Fuks
  • Bradley Kavanagh
  • Bruno Machet
  • Celine Bœhm
  • Costas Skordis
  • Diego Redigolo
  • Emmanuel Moulin
  • Federico Lelli
  • Filippo Sala
  • Filippo Vernizzi
  • Jakub Scholtz
  • Julia Harz
  • Kallia Petraki
  • Karim Benakli
  • Kenza Zeghari
  • Lucia Rinchiuso
  • Marco CIRELLI
  • Mark Goodsell
  • Marta Perego
  • Mathias Pierre
  • Mathieu Boudaud
  • Maíra Dutra
  • Pavel Kroupa
  • Ruben Oncala
  • Silvia Galli
  • Valerie Domcke
  • Yann Gouttenoire
  • Yann Mambrini
  • Yifan CHen