This mini-workshop is aimed at gathering a few experts from different fields (mostly theoretical cosmology, Galactic dynamics, [astro]particle physics) to discuss current progress, issues, and prospects in the understanding of dark matter. The focus is mostly on dark matter on galactic and subgalactic scales, namely the scales critical to discriminate among several classes of DM candidates (in terms of their structure formation properties), and also critical in the potential tensions between the cold dark matter paradigm and current observations.

The number of (invited) participants will be limited to ~20-30, and the philosophy may be summarized as: collaborative, friendly, unveil the dust under the carpet(s), share knowledge, get new ideas. This is the third edition of this workshop series (previous editions: 2013, 2017).

The meeting will take place at the campus of the Faculty of Sciences of the University of Montpellier, in the Salle des Actes (build. n°7). We will have lunch at the University restaurant on the campus ("restaurant des personnels" on the map).

The main entrance of the Faculty is located Rue du Truel (no longer Place Eugène Bataillon), which you can reach by tram from the city center (tram line 1, the blue one, stop "Saint Eloi" or the next one, "Universités des Sciences et des Lettres") .

From downtown (where the railway station, or Place de la Comédie, are located), take this tram line (1, with the white swallows) toward "Mosson". To go back downtown, take the same line toward "Odysseum".
NB: you will have to purchase your tickets before boarding the tram (ticket machines at each stop).

This meeting is funded by the CNRS-IN2P3 Theory Project "Galactic Dark Matter" (PI J. Lavalle), and by the CNRS National Programs PNHE and PNCG.

Scientific organizers: B. Famaey, J. Lavalle.

Local organizers: T. Lacroix, J. Lavalle, M. Stref + A. Chenouf.

Participants will include:

Oscar Agertz (Lund), Quentin Agobert (Strasbourg), Eric Armengaud (CEA-Saclay), James Binney (U. Oxford), James Bullock (UC Irvine), Mathieu Boudaud (LPTHE), Sacha Davidson (LUPM), Raphael Errani (Edinburgh), Benoit Famaey (Strasbourg), Jean-Baptiste Fouvry (IAS), Karsten Jedamzik (LUPM), David Katz (Obs. Paris), Florian Kuhnel (Stockholm), Thomas Lacroix (LUPM), Julien Lavalle (LUPM), David J.E. Marsh (Göttingen), Giacomo Monari (Potsdam), Emmanuel Nezri (LAM), Arturo Nunez (LAM), Go Ogiya (Nice), Christophe Pichon (IAP), Florent Renaud (Lund), Simon Rozier (IAP), Pierre Salati (LAPTh), Aurel Schneider (ETH Zurich), Martin Stref (LUPM), Hervé Wozniak (LUPM), and several MSc students.

Commence le
Se termine le
Salle des Actes
Université de Montpellier Place Eugène Bataillon
Your browser is out of date!

Update your browser to view this website correctly. Update my browser now