Jul 4 – 7, 2023
APC-Université Paris Cité
Europe/Paris timezone

The second Workshop on Multi-Messenger Tomography of the Earth will be held from the 4th to 7th of July, 2023 at Université Paris Cité in Paris (France), jointly organized by Laboratoire AstroParticule et Cosmologie and Institut de Physique du Globe de Paris. 

Following up on the first edition held in 2022 (https://www.physics.utah.edu/mmte-2022/), the aim of the workshop is to bring together geoscientists and neutrino physicists to explore new pathways of combining their methodological approaches and data towards a multi-messenger tomography of the Earth. Sessions will include an overview of the methodologies for data inversion in both communities, and presentations of the theoretical and experimental state of the art in Earth core and mantle studies.  

The last day of the workshop will be devoted to kickstarting the redaction of a White Paper on "Multi-messenger tomography of the Earth: science reach and methods".  

We welcome abstracts from the community, and especially from early career scientists, for whom we hope to be able to provide some registration fee waivers. If you would like to request this support, please contact us by email.

It will be possible to follow the workshop remotely; however we strongly encourage the speakers to be present on site. Participants on-site are requested to pay a fee of 140 euro, covering the coffee breaks, a Wine and Cheese event and a Social Dinner (where accompanying persons are also welcome at an extra cost).

Zoom information for a remote participation: 
ID meeting : 886 3387 8822 
Password : 237398


APC-Université Paris Cité
Amphitheater Pierre-Gilles de Gennes

Speakers at the workshop include:

  • Sanjib Agarwalla (Institute of Physics, Bhubaneswar and University of Wisconsin-Madison)
  • Laura Cobden (Utrecht University)
  • João A. B. Coelho (Laboratoire AstroParticule et Cosmologie)
  • Fabio Crameri (Undertone.design)
  • Arwen Deuss (Utrecht University)
  • Amol S. Dighe (Tata Institute of Fundamental Research)
  • John Hernlund (Earth-Life Science Institute, Tokyo Institute of Technology)
  • Doyeon Kim (Institute of Geophysics, ETH Zürich)
  • Anil Kumar (Deutsches Elektronen-Synchrotron)
  • Livia Ludhova (Forschungszentrum Jülich and Rheinisch-Westfälische Technische Hochschule Aachen)
  • William McDonough (University of Maryland & Tohoku University) 
  • Yury Malyshkin (GSI / Forschungszentrum Juelich)
  • Fabio Mantovani (University of Ferrara & INFN)
  • Sebastian Noe (ETH Zürich)
  • Sergio Palomares-Ruiz (Instituto de Física Corpuscular de Valencia)
  • Rebekah Pestes (Laboratoire AstroParticule et Cosmologie and Institut de Physique du Globe de Paris)
  • Serguey T. Petcov (INFN & Scuola Internazionale Superiore di Studi Avanzati)
  • Mariam Rifai (FZ Juelich and RWTH Aachen)
  • Marina Rosas-Carbajal (IPGP)
  • Carsten Rott (Utah University and Sungkyunkwan University)
  • Andrew Santos (LLR - Ecole Polytechnique)
  • Virginia Strati (University of Ferrara & INFN)
  • Tarak Thakore (University of Cincinnati)
  • Véronique Van Elewyck (Université Paris Cité, Laboratoire AstroParticule et Cosmologie)
  • Edward Young (Earth, Planetary and Space Sciences, UCLA)
  • Lauren Waszek (Centre for Tropical and Sustainability Science, James Cook University)
The call for abstracts is open
You can submit an abstract for reviewing.
Application for this event is currently open.