Instrumental concepts in the MeV domain

Amphi de Gennes (1st basement) (Paris, APC)

Amphi de Gennes (1st basement)

Paris, APC

Bat. Condorcet 10, rue A. Domon et L. Duquet 75025 Paris cedex 13
This workshop, following those in Toulouse (September 2010) and Paris (January 2013) both devoted to the scientific perspectives in the MeV domain, is open to the international community and is aimed at forming a consortium of laboratories to prepare the next space mission in the 0.1-100 MeV domain (e.g. the ESA AO for M4). It is supported by the PNHE.
Observatoires HE

Programme National

Hautes Energies


Scientific Summary
Over the last decade, the diversity and richness of the gamma-ray sky have been revealed through the joint exploitation of instruments onboard satellites such as INTEGRAL, Swift and Fermi in the soft and high energy domains, and ground-based experiments such as HESS, MAGIC and VERITAS in the very-high energy gamma-ray domain. Morphological, spectral and temporal analyses have now been made possible, and hence, confronted to multi-wavelength data in order to probe the underlying physical mechanisms of the observed sources, among them : gamma-ray bursts, novae, supernovae and their remnants, pulsars and their wind nebulae, accreting binary systems and active galactic nuclei, massive stars and stellar formation regions.

However, one domain remains largely unexplored, namely the medium-energy gamma-ray (so-called "MeV") domain, from 0.1 to 100 MeV. Once the instruments onboard INTEGRAL will be turned off, this energy range will be inaccessible to astronomers. Given the broad panel of scientific objectives associated with this MeV domain as presented and discussed at the previous workshops (see above), and as the French Space Agency (CNES) is conducting a prospective exercise for space missions to be concluded in 2014, it is timely to focus on the existing instrumental concepts, from their feasibility to their adequacy to the main scientific topics of the Cosmic Vision program in this energy range (nucleosynthesis, GRBs, AGNs and low-energy cosmic rays, among other topics, which are described in detail in the following document ASTROP_APC_LEBR_ASTROMEV sent to CNES in response to its "call for ideas"). This is considered as an important step towards the design of the next dedicated MeV space mission. It is also a mandatory step for MeV astronomy to be considered in the CNES perspective.

Meeting Purpose and Organization

The workshop is mainly aimed at presenting and discussing the instrumental concepts associated with the MeV domain, and will be held at the APC institute in Paris from Wednesday 6th until Friday 8th November 2013.

Starting with a dozen of very different experimental designs, the goals are to get to a class of concepts (2-3 maximum) addressing the major scientific objectives and to organize a consortium that will specify the instrument and mission in more details.

The workshop will last three days in order to:

* present and discuss the various instrumental concepts
* select a few of them on the basis of their feasibility and their ability to meet the scientific needs expressed at the previous workshops. To evaluate the feasibility, an engineering inter-laboratory group (system, electronic, mechanics, embedded systems, etc.) will give its opinion on each of the concepts.

* create working groups (science, performance, orbit and instrumental background, etc.) that will be operational after the workshop to prepare responses to Agency AOs such as the ESA M4.

Proponents of each concept must complete a few pages document TechSpec-template.doc describing the mission, the instrument and its performance and send it to one month prior to the workshop (i.e. before October 6). Engineers and scientists will then have time to evaluate it. In particular, several internationally recognized experts in the field have agreed to act as an external evaluation committee:
Gottfried Kanbach (chairman)
Niels Lund
Giorgio Palumbo
Jacques Paul

together with a technical evaluation committee:

Christian Olivetto (coordinator, system aspects)
Roger Pons (Electronics)
Thierry Tourrette (Thermo/Mechanics)
Claude Zurbach (on-board software)

Researchers and engineers from France and abroad are therefore very welcome to participate. A large fraction of time will be devoted to round-table discussions focused on the technical details of every instrumental concept: tools used to simulate the instrument, the radiative environment, and to compute its final performances: angular and spectral resolutions, continuum and line sensitivities, timing and polarisation capabilities, effective field-of-view.

There is no registration fee but registration is mandatory since the room allows for only 78 participants. Registration will be closed after Friday, October 25. Priority will be given to participants having submitted an instrumental concept that they will present in 30 minutes including questions and discussion.

Program outline:

6.11 morning:
Welcome, purpose of the workshop and game rules
Reminder of the previous steps (Major scientific topics)
6.11 afternoon:
Missions and instrument concepts presentations
7.11 morning:
Missions and instrument concepts presentations
7.11 afternoon:
technical advice
general discussion (science and technology)
8.11 morning: identification of the concepts to be further studied
8.11 afternoon: consortium organization and next steps

Organizing committee

Matthieu Renaud, Alexandre Marcowith, Frédéric Piron (LUPM, Montpellier)
François Lebrun, Régis Terrier, Philippe Laurent (APC, Paris)
Vincent Tatischeff (CSNSM, Orsay)
Peter von Ballmoos, Jürgen Knödlseder, Pierre Jean (IRAP, Toulouse)
Bertrand Cordier, Stéphane Schanne (CEA/SAp, Saclay)
Berrie Giebels, Denis Bernard (LLR, Palaiseau)

  • Aleksandar Gostojic
  • Alexandre Marcowith
  • Alexandre Rachevski
  • Alexei Ulyanov
  • Anatoli Iyudin
  • Andrei Bykov
  • Andrii Neronov
  • Arnaud Claret
  • Bernard Genolini
  • Bernard Phlips
  • Bertrand Cordier
  • Carl Budtz-Jørgensen
  • Christian GOUIFFES
  • Clarisse Hamadache
  • Claude ZURBACH
  • Claudio Labanti
  • Denis Bernard
  • Denis Linget
  • Elisabeth JOURDAIN
  • Eric Bréelle
  • Ezio Caroli
  • François Lebrun
  • Frederic Piron
  • Giorgio Palumbo
  • Gottfried Kanbach
  • Isabelle Grenier
  • J. Eric Grove
  • Jean-Philippe Lenain
  • Jean-Pierre ROQUES
  • John Buchan Stephen
  • Jordan Camp
  • Jurgen Kiener
  • Karsten Kretschmer
  • Kazuhiro Nakazawa
  • khadoudja guerraichi
  • Lin LIN
  • Mallory Roberts
  • Marco Tavani
  • Martino Marisaldi
  • Matthieu RENAUD
  • Mohamad Khalil
  • nabil karkour
  • Nicolas de Sereville
  • Niels Lund
  • olivetto christian
  • Oran Morris
  • PAUL Jacques
  • Peter von Ballmoos
  • Philippe Laurent
  • Pierre Jean
  • Remi CHIPAUX
  • Roger PONS
  • Rui Silva
  • Régis Terrier
  • Sebastien Celestin
  • Stanley Hunter
  • Stephane Schanne
  • Steven Boggs
  • Vincent Tatischeff
  • Volker Beckmann
  • Volodymyr Savchenko
  • Youri Dolgorouky