# **Welcome from the Local Organing Committee**

- ✓ Gregorio Bernardi (CNRS/IN2P3, Chair)
- ✓ Catherine Biscarat (L2IT Toulouse)
- ✓ Gaelle Boudoul (IP2I Lyon, AICP)
- ✓ Vincent Boudry (LLR Palaiseau)
- → Paul Colas (IRFU, CEA/Saclay)
- ✓ Marco Delmastro (LAPP Annecy)
- Jean-Baptiste De Vivie (LPSC Grenoble)
- ✓ Fares Djama (CPPM Marseille)
- ✓ Ziad El Bitar (IPHC Strasbourg)
- ✓ Giovanni Marchiori (APC Paris, co-Chair)
- Stéphane Monteil (LPC Clermont-Ferrand)
- ✓ Nicolas Morange (IJCLab Orsay, co-Chair)
- Luc Poggioli (LPNHE Paris)
- ✓ Suzanne Gascon-Shotkin (IP2I Lyon)
- ✓ Maxim Titov (IRFU, CEA/Saclay)



### ECFA Early Career Researchers' Workshop | France

https://indico.in2p3.fr/event/33447



https://indico.in2p3.fr/event/33813/



Science et Société: le projet FCC, le Futur Collisionneur Circulaire de particules élémentaires du CERN

### Reminder of charge:

 Based on the recommendations of the [ESPP Update], ECFA is organising a series of workshops on physics studies, experiment design and detector technologies towards a future electron-positron Higgs/EW/Top factory.

The aim is to bring together the efforts of various e<sup>+</sup>e<sup>-</sup> projects, to share challenges and expertise, to explore synergies and to respond coherently to this high-priority strategy item.

- Goal: update contribution sent to Snowmass exercise and write up in an ECFA Report (White Paper or CERN Yellow Report) by Dec 2025.
  - Editors: A. Robson and C. Leonidopoulos
- New plan, given ESPP timescale:
  - Finalize the work until ~end 2024; compiling Report: Oct 2024-Jan 2025.
  - Submit ECFA HET Factory Report to ESPP update process: end March 2025

### Working Groups:

- WG 1. Physics Potential: Jorge de Blas (Univ. Granada), Patrick Koppenburg (Nikhef), Jenny List (DESY) and Fabio Maltoni (UC Louvain / Bologna)
- WG 2, Physics Analysis Methods: Patrizia Azzi (INFN-Padova / CERN), Fulvio Piccinini (INFN Pavia) and Dirk Zerwas (IJCLab/DMLab)
- WG 3: Detector R&D: Mary Cruz Fouz (CIEMAT Madrid), Giovanni Marchiori (APC Paris) and Felix Sefkow (DESY)

## **Committees**

The Program Committee consists of ex-officio members (ECFA and local chair/secretary) and the WG conveners:

- ✓ WG1: Jorge de Blas (U. Granada), Patrick Koppenburg (Nikhef), Jenny List (DESY / CERN), Fabio Maltoni (UC Louvain / Bologna)
- ✓ WG2: Patrizia Azzi (INFN-Padova / CERN), Fulvio Piccinini (INFN Pavia), Dirk Zerwas (IJCLab/DMLab)
- ✓ WG3: Mary-Cruz Fouz (CIEMAT), Giovanni Marchiori (APC Paris), Felix Sefkow (DESY)
- ✓ ECFA IAC: Christos Leonidopoulos (University of Edinburgh), Aidan Robson (University of Glasgow)

#### The Local Organizing Committee is composed of :

- ✓ Gregorio Bernardi (CNRS/IN2P3, Chair)
- ✓ Catherine Biscarat (L2IT Toulouse)
- ✓ Gaelle Boudoul (IP2I Lyon, AICP)
- Vincent Boudry (LLR Palaiseau)
- Paul Colas (IRFU, CEA/Saclay)
- Marco Delmastro (LAPP Annecy)
- ✓ Jean-Baptiste De Vivie (LPSC Grenoble)
- Fares Djama (CPPM Marseille)
- ✓ Ziad El Bitar (IPHC Strasbourg)
- Giovanni Marchiori (APC Paris, co-Chair)
- Stéphane Monteil (LPC Clermont-Ferrand)
- ✓ Nicolas Morange (IJCLab Orsay, co-Chair)
- ✓ Luc Poggioli (LPNHE Paris)
- ✓ Suzanne Gascon-Shotkin (IP2I Lyon)
- ✓ Maxim Titov (IRFU, CEA/Saclay)

#### The International Advisory Committee is composed of :

- ✓ Patricia Conde Muino (IST/LIP)
- ✓ Didier Contardo (IN2P3)
- ✓ Mogens Dam (Copenhagen NBI)
- ✓ Arnaud Ferrari (Stockholm)
- ✓ Juan Fuster (Valencia)
- ✓ Eilam Gross (Tel Aviv)
- ✓ Jorgen D'Hondt (VU Brussels)
- ✓ Christophe Grojean (DESY)
- ✓ Patrick Janot (CERN)
- ✓ Christos Leonidopoulos (Edinburgh)
- ✓ Celso Martinez Rivero (Madrid)
- Joachim Mnich (CERN)
- ✓ Aleandro Nisati (ROME I)
- ✓ Aidan Robson (Glasgow)
- ✓ Frank Simon (KIT)
- Paris Sphicas (Athens, CERN, Chair)
- ✓ Steinar Stapnes (CERN)
- ✓ Roberto Tenchini (Pisa)
- ✓ Guy Wilkinson (Oxford)
- ✓ Andrea Wulzer (Lausanne)
- ✓ Lidija Zivkovic (Belgrad)

	Registration				
	Amphi Farabeuf, Campus des C	ordeliers, Paris, Metro Odeon		08:30 - 09:00	
09:00	News from the local organizer	s	G. Bernardi et al.		
	Amphi Farabeuf, Campus des C	ordeliers, Paris, Metro Odeon	09:00 - 09:10		
	Welcome from IN2P3 and IRFU	J	Dr Christelle Roy		
	Amphi Farabeuf, Campus des C	ordeliers, Paris, Metro Odeon		09:10 - 09:25	
	ESPPU process and timeline;	goals of the workshop	Paris Sphicas		
	Amphi Farabeuf, Campus des C	ordeliers, Paris, Metro Odeon	09:30 - 09:40		
	The need for a Higgs, Electroweak, and Top factory  Margarete Mühlleitner				
10-00	Amphi Farabeuf, Campus des C		o9:45 - 10:10		
10:00	10.10				
	Software for future colliders		Juraj Smiesko		
	Amphi Farabeuf, Campus des C	ordeliers, Paris, Metro Odeon	10:15 - 10:30		
	coffee break				
	Amphi Farabeuf, Campus des C	ordeliers, Paris, Metro Odeon		10:30 - 11:00	
11:00	Overview on low mass sc Tahia Robens	Measurement of hadronic Alexis Maloizel	Reimagining Electron-Pos Graham Wils	Design, performance and  Armin llg et al.	
	Search for additional Higg Anne-Marie	Strange tagging with ILD f Dr Taikan Su	CMOS R&D targeting a ver auguste bes	Precision studies of quan Juan Alcara	
	Search for invisible decay Aman Desai	Detector impact on flavou  Andrea Scia			
			Probing New Physics at fu Redamy Per	Large area low-power Mo Yanyan Gao	

#### 4 rooms:

Farabeuf 1: where we stand now

Pasquier 2 also called Bilsky Pasquier

Roussy 9 use the stairs Salle des theses 6



- Coffee breaks and lunches in the Galleries
- Reception in Salle Marie Curie T this evening.
- Banquet tomorrow evening (more info by email) at 8PM In quartier Montparnasse (18mn by metro, 25mn walk) (from Metro Odeon to Vavin by line 4)

## Logistics

- Wifi: Eduroam or ask secretariat for individual login
- Zoom: Possible only in Farabeuf (Plenaries)
- Little power available: concentrate on talks !!!
- Workshop Photo: Thursday at coffee break 10.30

## Poster session



The poster session will start at 18:00 on Wednesday, and will take place during the welcome reception of the event, in the cloister of the Cordelier campus.

The posters will remain displayed until Friday.

Prizes will be awarded to the four best posters, and the first two winners will also be able to present their poster as a short talk during the workshop.

# **Special Early Career Researchers Sessions on Thursday**

The European Particle Physics Strategy Update and the role of Early-Career Researchers (talk)	Armin Ilg
Amphi Farabeuf, Campus des Cordeliers, Paris, Metro Odeon	13:15 - 13:30
Who are we? (Interactive)	Emanuela Musumeci
Amphi Farabeuf, Campus des Cordellers, Paris, Metro Odeon	13:30 - 13:45
What is important to us for the future of particle physics in Europe? (discussion)	Emanuela Musumeci
Amphi Farabeuf, Campus des Cordeliers, Paris, Metro Odeon	13:45 - 14:10

Further topics for ECR White Paper Input? (discussion)	Leonhard Reichenbach
Amphi Farabeuf, Campus des Cordeliers, Paris, Metro Odeon	18:30 - 18:40
Ranking of topics (interactive)	Magdalena Vande Voorde
Amphi Farabeuf, Campus des Cordeliers, Paris, Metro Odeon	18:40 - 18:55
Potential statements (discussion, if time allows)	Armin Ilg
Amphi Farabeuf, Campus des Cordeliers, Paris, Metro Odeon	18:55 - 19:05
Formation of Working Groups	Armin Ilg
Amphi Farabeuf, Campus des Cordeliers, Paris, Metro Odeon	19:05 - 19:15
Summary and next steps towards ECR White Paper Input to EPPSU (talk)	
Amphi Farabeuf, Campus des Cordeliers, Paris, Metro Odeon	19:15 - 19:30