de Sitter constructions in String Theory

Amphitheater Claude Bloch (IPhT, CEA/Saclay, France)

Amphitheater Claude Bloch

IPhT, CEA/Saclay, France


de Sitter vacua in String Theory are usually constructed using effective four-dimensional theories that appear to descend from string theory compactifications with fluxes and localized objects. However, in most constructions it is not clear whether the needed ingredients can be combined directly in String Theory without leading to inconsistencies.

A parallel line of inquiry, based on the properties of consistent effective field theories and known as the Swampland Paradigm, conjectures that these constructions will always be inconsistent. 

This workshop aims to bring together experts on top-down and bottom-up de Sitter constructions, discuss progress and controversies in this area and create the framework for new collaborations and developments.

Organizers: Iosif Bena, Mariana Graña, Ander Retolaza


Invited participants:

David Andriot
Johan Blåbäck
Andreas Braun
Giuseppe Dibitetto
Emilian Dudaș
Renata Kallosh
Manki Kim
Elias Kiritsis
Nicolas Kovensky
Severin Lüst
Luca Martucci
Jakob Moritz
Vasilis Niarchos
Francesco Nitti
Susha Parameswaran
Erik Plauschinn
Lisa Randall
Gary Shiu
Pablo Soler 
Radu Tătar
Bret Underwood
Thomas van Riet
Timm Wrase
Ivonne Zavala


Logo IPhTLogo CEA/DSM  

 Logo CNRS       Logo ANR    

  • Achilleas Passias
  • Alessandro Bombini
  • Ander Retolaza
  • Andreas Braun
  • Brando Bellazzini
  • Bret Underwood
  • Caroline Brembilla
  • Chiara Toldo
  • David Andriot
  • Elias Kiritsis
  • Emilian Dudas
  • Erik Plauschinn
  • Felicity Eperon
  • Flavio Tonioni
  • Francesco Nitti
  • G. Bruno De Luca
  • Gabriele Lo Monaco
  • Gary Shiu
  • Gerben Venken
  • Giuseppe Dibitetto
  • Iosif Bena
  • Ivonne Zavala
  • Jakob Moritz
  • Johan Blåbäck
  • Lilian Chabrol
  • Lisa Randall
  • Luca Martucci
  • Lukas Witkowski
  • Manki Kim
  • Marco Scalisi
  • Mariana Grana
  • Nam Huy Nguyen
  • Niccolò Cribiori
  • Nicolas Kovensky
  • Pablo Soler
  • Paul Marconnet
  • Philippe Brax
  • Radu Tatar
  • Renata Kallosh
  • Ruben Monten
  • Severin Lüst
  • Susha Parameswaran
  • Thomas Van Riet
  • Timm Wrase
  • Vasileios Niarchos
  • Vincent Van Hemelryck
  • Yixuan LI
  • Yuta Hamada