21ème conférence Claude Itzykson - Dynamics, Disorder and Localization in Interacting Quantum Many Body Systems


The Itzykson Conference is held every year at the Institut de Physique Théorique in Saclay to honour the memory of Claude Itzykson. The 21st edition of this conference will take place on June 13-15 and will be devoted to the themes of dynamics, disorder and localization in strongly interacting quantum many body systems. 

Quenched random disorder can have dramatic effects on transport and dynamical properties of non-interacting quantum systems and can lead to localized insulating phases of matter, as first proposed by Anderson. Recent theoretical investigations suggested that localization effects can survive at finite interaction and finite temperature in closed isolated quantum systems, a surprising result with very interesting consequences for our basic understanding of quantum statistical mechanics. While the interplay of interaction and disorder on the equilibrium low temperature physics of quantum systems has been longly studied, these recent developments triggered a new wave of interst onto this venerable problem and cast it into a completely new light, where dynamics and out of equilibrium phenomena play a key role. 

The aim of this conference is to bring together the broad community of physicists working on various facets of this challenging problem. The program will feature  thematic sessions covering the recent developments in the mathematical physics, as well as in the statistical, condensed matter and ultracold atom physics communities. The goal is to generate  a steady flow of ideas from different communities and a set of common concepts and approaches to attack this challenging and multifacet problem.

Organizing committee: Giulio Biroli, Eugene Bogomolny, Cecile Monthus, Marco Schiro' and Sylvie Zaffanella, Anne Angles, Laure Sauboy (secretary).
Sponsors and benefactors: IPhT (CEA and CNRS)DSM, LabEx LMH, LabEx PALM




  • Ada Altieri
  • Alain Comtet
  • Alberto Rosso
  • Alessandro Tartaglia
  • Andrea De Luca
  • Arnaud Ralko
  • Bernard Bernu
  • Bernard Derrida
  • Boris Altshuler
  • Catherine Pepin
  • Cecile MONTHUS
  • Christian Schmidt
  • Christophe Texier
  • Christopher Monroe
  • David Pekker
  • David Reichman
  • Davide Facoetti
  • Dmitry Abanin
  • Fabien Alet
  • Felix Werner
  • Francesca Pietracaprina
  • François David
  • François Huveneers
  • Gilles Montambaux
  • Gilles Tarjus
  • Giulio Bertoli
  • Giulio Biroli
  • Grégoire Misguich
  • Hubert Saleur
  • Immanuel Bloch
  • Ines Rodriguez Arias
  • Jaksa Vucicevic
  • Jean-Marc Luck
  • Jens Eisert
  • Jens H Bardarson
  • John Imbrie
  • Kemal Bidzhiev
  • Kirone Mallick
  • Lara Faoro
  • Laurent Sanchez-Palencia
  • Loic Herviou
  • Maksym Serbyn
  • Marco Baity Jesi
  • Marco Schiro
  • Marco Schiro
  • Marco Tarzia
  • Markus Müller
  • Maximilian Schulz
  • Michael Pasek
  • Olivier Golinelli
  • Orazio Scarlatella
  • Pascal SIMON
  • pasquier vincent
  • Pierfrancesco Urbani
  • pierre le doussal
  • Riccardo Rossi
  • Robin Kaiser
  • Romain Vasseur
  • Sarang Gopalakrishnan
  • Satya MAJUMDAR
  • schehr gregory
  • silvio franz
  • Simone Fratini
  • Simone Warzel
  • Steven Thomson
  • Thimothée Thiery
  • Valentina Ros
  • Vladimir Kravtsov
  • wojciech de roeck
Contact the organizers